MOWA Announces Winners of the 2018 Wisconsin Artists Biennial  

Mark Klassen wins $5,000 and a solo exhibition at MOWA

February 3, 2018
Return to press releases

The Museum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA) and Wisconsin Visual Artists (WVA) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Wisconsin Artists Biennial. A record number of artists applied for this prestigious biennial exhibition. A total of 53 works by 46 artists were selected by jurors Katherine Chang Liu, Scott Zieher, and Graeme Reid. The exhibition opened with a party on Saturday, February 3, 2018, where eight prize winners were announced. Milwaukee artist Mark Klassen received the MOWA Prize of $5,000 and a solo museum exhibition at MOWA.

The 2018 Wisconsin Artists Biennial winners:

MOWA Prize | $5,000 and Exhibition at MOWA | Mark Klassen, Air Conditioner
WVA SE 2nd Place | Glenn Williams, Prosthetic Bike
WVA SC 3rd Place |  Sarah O’Farrell, Skin Horse (Becoming Real)
WVA NE 4th Place | Stephen Hilyard, Katyusha
Merit Award | Keven Brunett and Kristin Thielking, Voices: A Tribute to the Dictionary of American Regional English
Merit Award | Michael Velliquette, Untitled 4 (Sankhara)
Honorable Mention | Helen Lee, Words Are Not Things
Honorable Mention | Sandra Cipollone, Anonymous Iconic

The Biennial is on view at the Museum of Wisconsin Art from February 3 to April 8.

The Wisconsin Artists Biennial is co-sponsored and organized by Wisconsin Visual Artists and Museum of Wisconsin Art. The Biennial is a competitive exhibition open to all artists living in Wisconsin and age 18 and older. Previous Biennial winners include S.V. Medaris, Warrington Colescott, and Tom Uttech. The Biennial committee is led by WVA co-chairs Christine Style and Victoria Tasch. Committee members include WVA members Doug Haynes and Rosie Hartmann, and MOWA staff members.

For more information about the exhibition, to schedule an interview, or to request a press kit, please contact Jessica Wildes, Director of Communications and Marketing at or call 262-247-2266.
Jessica Wildes, Director of Communications and Marketing, 262.247.2266