Milwaukee Art Commission

The Milwaukee Art Commission was organized in 1911.
Officials served a four year term.
The art commission is appointed by the Mayor to pass on designs of municipal buildings, bridges, approaches and other objects and structures acquired by the city including paintings and other art objects donated to the public schools of the city.
Many Wisconsin artists received purchase awards and had artwork  included in the Milwaukee Art Commission's permanent collection.
Celeste Spransy Gass served as president of the Milwaukee Art Commission for ten years.
Old Names:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Instagram icon
  • Flickr icon
  • Youtube icon
  • E-News icon