2016 Wisconsin Artists Biennial 

February 6–March 27, 2016 Past Exhibitions
Image for Alex Hopkins, The Fifer, Archival pigment print, 2015Alex Hopkins, The Fifer, Archival pigment print, 2015Image for George (Tim) Black, Untitle 2, Oil on canvas, 2015George (Tim) Black, Untitle 2, Oil on canvas, 2015

Get cheap van cleef and arpels necklace,replica cartier bracelet,replica bvlgari bracelet and replica hermes bracelet.

MOWA is pleased to welcome the Wisconsin Artists Biennial, which is organized by the Wisconsin Visual Artists (WVA). The WVA is the oldest artist organization in Wisconsin. Originally founded in 1900, this collaborative has a long and respected history that began in Louis Mayer’s studio. The Biennial is a competitive exhibition open to artists statewide. Past Biennial winners have included Warrington Colescott and Tom Uttech. 

Several exciting changes have been made to the Biennial that will certainly enhance the 2016 exhibition. In addition to being installed in the Hyde Gallery, the show will expand into the Horicon Bank Gallery, providing another sixty feet of wall space. Size limitations have also been removed to allow artists free reign over what they wish to submit for jurying. And, perhaps most exciting of all, MOWA has established a challenge grant—the museum will match all funds, up to $5000, raised by the WVA for the prize winners in this year’s Biennial.

This year, three jurors will judge the Biennial. They are Peter Olson, assistant director of the Northern Illinois University Art Museum, Tammie Rubin, assistant professor of sculpture and ceramics at St. Edward’s University in Austin, Texas, and Graeme Reid, MOWA’s director of collections and exhibitions.

2016 Winners

Best in Show
S.V. Medaris, Hog Butcher for the World

First Place
Tom Berenz, To The West

Second Place
Meg Mitchell, Rain/Fall

Third Place
Bethann Moran, Community Garden, New Years Eve

Honorable Mentions
Jacob Pfeiffer, Shadow Box
Ben Tyjeski, Vase a Koch d’Elephant
Barbara Ciurej and Lindsay Lochman, Fruit Loops Landscape from the series, Processed Views
Jerilynn Bush, Morning

2016 Participating Artists 

Andrew Acker, Wauwatosa
Michael Arendt, Green Bay
Pamela Anderson, Milwaukee
Jordan Acker Anderson, Wauwatosa
Ann Baer, Milwaukee
Dennis Bayuzick, Kenosha 
Tom Berenz, Milwaukee
Lois Bielefeld, Shorewood
George (Tim) Black, Star Lake
Jerilynn Bush, Sheboygan
Martha Coaty, Racine
Kristy Deetz, De Pere
Nina Ghanbarzadeh, New Berlin
Ben Grant, Milwaukee
Alex Hopkins, Green Bay
Jayne Reid Jackson, Madison
Claire Kayser, Menomonie
Dale Knaak, Sheboygan
Michael Kratochwill, Middleton
Pat Kroth, Verona
Don Krumpos, Green Bay
Karla Lauden, Menasha
Diane Levesque, Kenosha
Jim Liedtke, Madison
Lindsay Lochman and Barbara Ciurej, Milwaukee
Jack Long, Grafton
Chris Maddox, Madison
Gail Marquardt, Milwaukee 
Lindsay Marx, Milwaukee
S. V. Medaris, Mount Horeb
John S Miller, Madison
Meg Mitchell, Madison
Bethann Moran, Ft Atkinson
Lee Mothes, Kaukauna
Masako Onodera, Menomonie
Jacob A. Pfeiffer, Madison
Melissa Dorn Richards, Milwaukee
Katie Ries, Manitowoc
Gena Selby, Green Bay
Corey Michael Smith, Shorewood
Shelley Smith, Janesville
Katelyn Smits, De Pere
Wendi Turchan, Greenville
Ben Tyjeski, Milwaukee
Thomas Uebelherr, Milwaukee
Leslie Loomis Vansen, Milwaukee
Soraya Villarreal, Grafton
Adam Wiesner, Green Bay
Peggy Flora Zalucha, Mount Horeb