mail location clock phone-call message confetti star food restaurant restaurant-1 store shop-bag pine hotel cocktail balloon graduation sparkler cake birthday-cake invitation spotlight party-hat lamp wedding-rings press-conference circle-checkmark person drama calendar tree blue-checkmark Lifted Logic Web Design in Kansas City clock location phone play chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up facebook checkbox checkbox-checked radio radio-selected instagram google plus pinterest twitter youtube send linkedin down-arrow star video-play account cart chevron video_play facebook-share linkedin-share twitter-share select-down

MOWA Board of Directors

Our Board & Staff

Board of Directors

Our Board


Claire Rolfs

Past President

Heather Dunn

Vice President

Thadd J. Llaurado


Dale Kent


Frederick C. Schwertfeger


Rafael Francisco Salas

James and Karen Hyde Executive Director

Laurie Winters, ex officio


Lori Bechtold

Wendy A. Burke

Lea Culver

Christie Dionisopoulos

Prudence Pick Hway

Tom Jones

Dale Kent

Brian Leadley

Margaret Lidstone

Linda Marcus

Judy Moon

Robert Ramsthal

Michael Schilling

Andrea Schloemer

Andrea Sellinger

Fred Stonehouse


Melitta Hedwig Suder-Pick (1886–1972)

Museum Executive Director & CEO


Executive Director | CEO

Laurie Winters


Laurie Winters, the Karen and James Hyde Executive Director, joined MOWA in late 2012 just prior to the opening of the museum’s new facility. Under her leadership, MOWA launched and rebranded the institution in 2013, created a garden campus in 2018, opened a satellite location in downtown Milwaukee in 2019, and set year-after-year visitor attendance records with an exciting array of programs and exhibitions.

Winters came to MOWA from the Milwaukee Art Museum, where she had served for 16 years in curatorial and administrative roles. She holds a graduate degree in art history from the University of Michigan and an MBA from Alverno College.

Museum Administrative Staff

Deputy Director
Jane Aspinwall

Director of Development
Brianna Fischer

Executive Admin & HR
Gina Gustrowsky

Director of Marketing | Communications
Andrew Nordquist

Chief Financial Officer
Lisa Sanborn

Museum Curatorial Voices

Nast Family Fellow in Education

Miranda Aalto

Mona Boulware Webb Curatorial Fellow

Brianna Cole

Adjunct Curator for Comics

James P. Danky

Associate Curator of Contemporary Art

Anwar Floyd-Pruitt

Adjunct Curator

J Tyler Friedman

Curator of Youth Education

Courtney Hinder

Director of Exhibitions

Graeme Reid

Associate Curator of Architecture and Design

Thomas Szolwinski