mail location clock phone-call message confetti star food restaurant restaurant-1 store shop-bag pine hotel cocktail balloon graduation sparkler cake birthday-cake invitation spotlight party-hat lamp wedding-rings press-conference circle-checkmark person drama calendar tree blue-checkmark Lifted Logic Web Design in Kansas City clock location phone play chevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up facebook checkbox checkbox-checked radio radio-selected instagram google plus pinterest twitter youtube send linkedin down-arrow star video-play account cart chevron video_play facebook-share linkedin-share twitter-share select-down

Press Release

Exhibition Explores 60 Years of Wisconsin Glass

Exhibition October 23, 2021

WEST BEND, WISCONSIN – The Museum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA) announces the opening of its newest exhibition The Studio Glass Movement: The Hyde Collection. The exhibition is on view Saturday, October 23, 2021 through Sunday, January 23, 2022. Coinciding with the International Year of Glass (2022) and MOWA’s 60th anniversary (2021), this exhibition features thirty Wisconsin glass artists and more than one hundred pieces, including seminal works by early innovators and ambitious installations by contemporary artists.

Wisconsin was front and center at the inception of the Studio Glass movement. Heralded as the founding father of the movement, Harvey K. Littleton built the first glass program at the University of Wisconsin¬–Madison in 1962. His early students became apostles, spreading the gospel of glass as they founded programs across the United States, including Doug Johnson who went on to found the glass program at the University of Wisconsin¬–River Falls in 1967. James Engebretson and Eóin Breadon followed Johnson, contributing to another two generations of glass artists from the UW–River Falls program. In recent decades, the thriving art scene of Door County has attracted a community of glass artists who have created yet another node of influence in the state’s storied history, including husband and wife duo Jeremy Popelka and Stephanie Trenchard.

“On the occasion of this exhibition, MOWA is delighted to announce more than one hundred glass works from James and Karen Hyde have now formally joined the museum’s glass collection,” said Laurie Winters, Executive Director | CEO. “The Hyde collection tells the story of Wisconsin’s role in the development of the Studio Glass movement from its inception in Madison in the early 1960s to the later development of important glass centers at UW–River Falls and in Door County. We are thrilled to now make this collection available to the wider public in conjunction with MOWA’s anniversary and the 2022 International Year of Glass.”

James and Karen Hyde began buying glass in 2009, with the intention of building a collection for MOWA. James Hyde—a renowned biophysicist with more than thirty patents pertaining to MRI technology—was deeply attracted to the science that underlies glass art and the spirit of experimentation that characterizes its practitioners.

A full-color 160-page catalogue accompanies the exhibition and presents the state’s central role in the Studio Glass movement over the past sixty years. The catalogue features essays by Jan Mirenda Smith (former Executive Director of the Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass), Davira Taragin (consulting Curator of Glass), and Dr. James Hyde. The exhibition catalogue will be available for purchase at the MOWA Shop.

MOWA in West Bend, Wisconsin is open Wednesday through Sunday, 9:30–4:00. Admission as low as $15 provides unlimited visits for one full year.


Christopher R. Belleau (UW–Madison)
Eóin Breadon (UW–River Falls)
Patrick Casanova (UW–River Falls)
Jon F. Clark (UW–River Falls)
Deanna Clayton
Brent Cox (UW–Madison)
Stephan Cox (UW–River Falls)
Fritz Dreisbach (UW–Madison)
Boris Dudchenko
James E. and Renée Nielsen Engebretson (UW–River Falls)
Angelo Fico
Sharon Fujimoto
Audrey Handler (UW–Madison)
David Huchthausen (UW–Madison)
Wes S. Hunting
Wes J. Hunting
Kent Ipsen (UW–Madison)
Beth Lipman
Harvey K. Littleton (1922–2013) (UW–Madison)
Thomas Maras
Tom McGlauchlin (1943–2011) (UW–Madison)
Michael Meilahn (UW–River Falls)
Karen Eyara Naylor (UW–Madison)
Colleen Ott (UW–River Falls)
Jeremy Popelka (UW–Madison)
Nolan Prohaska
Jackson Schwartz (UW–River Falls)
Douglas and Renée Sigwarth (UW–River Falls)
Scott Simmons (UW–Madison)
Jeffrey Stenbom (UW–River Falls)
Stephanie Trenchard

Special thanks to the exhibition sponsors: