MOWA’s biennial fundraiser supporting Wisconsin art and artists.

The Art Ball 2023

Saturday, September 30 | 6:00

Held at Saint Kate—The Arts Hotel, the home of MOWA | DTN, The Art Ball supports MOWA and recognizes Wisconsin artists. Guests enjoy an immersive art experience, unexpected art elements, and delicious fare. The event honors the recipient of the Hyde Award for Wisconsin Art, established in 2015 to recognize art advocates for their influence on the arts and their significant support of MOWA. The evening offers a range of worthwhile recognition opportunities. Raise the Paddle donations to support new acquisitions for MOWA’s collection.


Hyde Award for Wisconsin Art

The Hyde Award for Wisconsin Art was established in 2015 to recognize art advocates for their significant influence on MOWA and the future of Wisconsin Art. This year’s honoree is museum architect James Shields of HGA for an expansive vision that is transforming MOWA and Wisconsin’s cultural landscape.

Design Principal with HGA, James Shields is renowned for his singular ability to translate site and project challenges into beautiful design solutions; when selected an AlA Fellow for excellence in building design, he was the only Fellow in Wisconsin.

During a thirty-five-year career, Shields has designed many buildings for arts and cultural institutions, among them are Discovery World, Milwaukee Ballet Center, Museum of Wisconsin Art, renovations and addition for the Milwaukee Art Museum, renovations for the Kenilworth Building for the UW–M Peck School of the Arts, atrium, and renovations at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and two additions for the Peninsula School of Art in Door County. His vision and leadership are at the core of the dynamic arts community we enjoy today.


Make a weekend of it. Art Ball attendees receive a special room rate of $249 on September 30.

Saint Kate—The Arts Hotel
139 East Kilbourn Avenue



Thank you to our signature sponsor
Love is All Around

Andrea and James Schloemer

Event Committee

Linda Marcus, Chair | Lea Culver | Christie Dionisopolous | Prudence Pick Hway | Beth Lipman | Cindy Mestan | Lon Michels | Todd Olson | Elizabeth Rees | Claire Rolfs | Andrea Schloemer | Irene Skipper | Laurie Winters